He Said Apologize, I Said the Wedding Is Off
Chapter 13: The Blame He Tried to Put on Me
1.8K words·8 min read
Protected Reading Content
The morning after Margaret sent me the preliminary evidence summary, I received an email from the insurance company. The subject line read: Additional Information Required Regarding Lake Geneva Property Incident. I opened it expecting another request for photographs or repair estimates. Instead, the representative explained that a statement had been submitted by another party claiming that the gathering at the property had taken place with my approval. The statement also suggested that I had later withdrawn permission because of a personal disagreement. I read the paragraph twice before looking toward my father.
“Grant,” I said. My father came over and read the email. His expression hardened immediately. The statement had not come directly from Grant, but the representative had identified him as the person who provided the account of events. According to his version, he had arranged the gathering after discussing the use of the property with me. He claimed that I had been aware that Claire and several friends would attend. The fire, he explained, had been an unfortunate accident during an otherwise authorized private event.
I felt an unusual calm settle over me. A few weeks earlier, such an accusation would have sent me into a panic. I would have called Grant immediately and demanded to know how he could make such a statement. Now I opened the folder containing the original email in which I had refused permission. I placed it beside the smart-lock record and the security footage showing Grant personally admitting people into the house. If he wanted the insurance company to consider his version, I had records that showed exactly when I had said no.
I forwarded the insurance company's request to Margaret. She called shortly afterward and asked me not to respond emotionally or make accusations beyond what the documents supported. She explained that the insurer needed a clear account from the property owner and that its investigation would determine how the incident was assessed under the policy. Grant's statement did not automatically establish that I had authorized the event. We would provide the original correspondence, access records, and available footage so the insurer could evaluate the conflicting accounts.
Margaret arranged a meeting with the insurance representative and asked me to prepare a written timeline. I began with Claire's request to borrow the house. I included my refusal, Grant's agreement, the creation of the seventy-two-hour visitor code, the arrival of the guests, and the smoke alerts. I described the burning wedding sign and the fire spreading across the deck. I made sure every statement was supported by a document, photograph, notification, or recording where available. I did not add assumptions about why Grant had acted as he did. The evidence could establish what had happened without requiring me to guess his motives.
During the meeting, the representative asked whether Grant had ever been given permission to arrange events at the property. I explained that he had helped me adjust certain smart-lock settings while we were preparing for the wedding. That access had been technical assistance, not permission to lend the house to someone else. I had never told him that he could invite guests without asking me. When Claire requested the property, I had refused clearly and in writing. I had also checked with Grant afterward because I wanted confirmation that he would not create a code behind my back.
The representative reviewed the email and asked whether I had any evidence showing that Grant knew about the refusal. I provided the message in which he acknowledged that Claire would not be allowed to use the property. I also shared the later access notification. The timestamp showed that the code had been created after our conversation. Margaret explained that the full sequence should be considered rather than a single statement made after the incident. The representative thanked us and confirmed that the information would be added to the investigation file.
A few hours later, Grant sent me a message. He said I was making a minor insurance matter unnecessarily complicated and warned me that the company might refuse coverage because of the way I was describing the gathering. He insisted that he had acted in good faith and that he had not expected Claire's party to become dangerous. I replied that I had not described his intentions. I had supplied the records of what he had done. If he believed his statement was accurate, he could provide his supporting evidence through the appropriate channel.
He called immediately. “You know I never meant for anything to happen to the house,” he said. “I know you wanted to protect Claire and help her,” I answered. “But I never gave you permission.” He sighed and said that I was focusing on the wrong issue. According to him, the important thing was getting the property repaired and preventing the financial consequences from becoming worse. I asked why he had told the insurance company that I had authorized the gathering. He said the situation was more complicated than a simple yes or no.
“What is complicated about the email where I refused?” I asked. Grant said we had been engaged, that I had already agreed to use the house for the wedding, and that he had believed he could coordinate certain arrangements. I reminded him that a wedding ceremony and an unrelated private party were two different things. More importantly, I had withdrawn the wedding plans and explicitly refused Claire's request. He answered that I had changed my mind several times and that he had tried to keep everyone happy. I told him that changing a wedding plan did not give him permission to use my property.
Then he made another mistake. He said he had already explained that Claire was under pressure and that the house was only supposed to be used for one evening. I asked him whether the seventy-two-hour code had been created accidentally. He said no. He had created it because Claire needed enough time to prepare, host her friends, and clean up afterward. I reminded him that I had specifically asked him not to create a code without my permission. He became silent. I saved the call time and sent Margaret a factual summary afterward.
The insurance representative requested the original video of the gathering. I provided the screen recording showing Claire burning the custom wedding sign and the sparks landing on the deck. I also provided the security footage from the entrance and the access history. Margaret reviewed the submission before it was sent, ensuring that the original files were preserved. I felt relieved that I didn't have to rely on emotional explanations. The recordings showed the arrival of the guests, the use of the house, and the fire beginning near the outdoor gathering area.
Meanwhile, my father and I continued inspecting the property. A restoration specialist examined the antique cabinet and the wooden furniture affected by smoke. Some surfaces could be cleaned, but the rug required specialized treatment. The broken plate could not be restored to its original condition, although its fragments could be preserved. We made an inventory of the damaged items and added photographs from before the gathering. My mother brought an old family album that showed the plate on my grandmother's dining table. I looked at it for a long time before adding the photograph to the inventory.
The next afternoon, Margaret received confirmation that the insurer had added my documents to the investigation. She said the conflicting statements would need to be reviewed, and that there was no reason to assume the final coverage decision had already been made. I appreciated the clarity. Grant wanted me to believe that providing evidence was the same as making trouble. But I had not created the fire, given Claire permission, or told anyone to lie. I was the owner trying to establish what had happened to her property.
Then another email arrived from Grant's personal attorney. It stated that Grant disputed my description of events and reserved his position concerning the financial contributions he claimed to have made toward the lake house before our engagement ended. He suggested that he had invested time and money in preparing the property for our wedding and that the cancellation had caused him financial loss. I immediately forwarded the email to Margaret. She replied that we would review the supporting documents before making any assumptions about the validity of his position.
I searched my own records for renovation payments. Most of the work had been paid from my personal account or directly by my parents. A few wedding-related purchases had been made using our joint account, and I had already separated those records from the disputed expenses. Grant had helped arrange a contractor's visit and had paid for some decorative items, but I had never agreed that those payments gave him ownership of the property. We would need to assess each expense according to its actual purpose and documentation.
That evening, Claire sent me a message asking whether I knew Grant had contacted the insurer. She said he had told her that I was trying to make her responsible for the entire fire. I answered that I was not making claims based on her personal circumstances. I had provided the evidence concerning access and the incident. She replied that Grant had promised to handle everything, but now he was saying the investigation could affect his business and financial position. I asked whether she had been aware that he was planning to tell the insurer I had authorized the party.
Claire did not answer immediately. Several minutes later, she wrote that she had never agreed to provide such a statement. She said Grant had told her he would explain the arrangement as a misunderstanding and that she should not get involved. I asked her to preserve any related messages and provide them through Margaret if she was willing. She replied that she would consider it. I did not pressure her. The decision to cooperate had to be hers, and I wanted whatever information she provided to be accurate.
Before going to bed, I opened my grandmother's letter again. She had warned me never to sign away my peace in exchange for a promise. I thought about Grant's repeated attempts to make me responsible for protecting him from the consequences of his decisions. He wanted me to accept his explanation, soften my position, and help him present a version of events that would reduce the questions he faced. But the property had never belonged to his future plans. It belonged to me. And I was no longer willing to let his promises rewrite that fact.
You May Also Like
More stories readers often continue with after this chapter.